West Virginia University Names 2014 Foundation Scholars - WBOY - Clarksburg, Morgantown: News, Sports, Weather

West Virginia University Names 2014 Foundation Scholars

Posted: Updated:

West Virginia University welcomed its newest class Foundation Scholars for 2014 on Wednesday.

The scholars come from a number of places across the state.

The Foundation Scholarship is awarded to the top students by WVU’s undergraduates, and benefits more than 5,500 students in the excess of $10 million.

The newest Foundation Scholars are: Kensey Bergdorf of Evans, Daniel Berrebi of Morgantown, Anna Cokely of Harrisville , Nicole Hegele of Shady Spring, and Savannah Lusk of Covel.

President Gordon Gee, WVU Vice President of Student Affairs, and WVU Foundation President, and CEO Cindi Roth spoke at the event.

The award provides full tuition and fees, room, boarding, and books for four years. The scholars are chosen from a pool of 20 students awarded the Neil S. Bucklew Scholarship. After being invited to the Bucklew Scholarship, students are asked to come to campus for interviews.

To be in the running for the scholarship, students must be from West Virginia, possess a minimum 3.8 GPA, and get a score of 30 on the ACT or a 1,340 on the SAT exam.

Powered by Frankly