2014 Mountain East All-Conference Baseball Selections Revealed - WBOY - Clarksburg, Morgantown: News, Sports, Weather

2014 Mountain East All-Conference Baseball Selections Revealed

Posted: Updated:
BRIDGEPORT - Concord's Joey Miller has been named Mountain East Conference Player of the Year, Shepherd's Paul Hvozdovic is the Pitcher of the Year, Rams skipper Matt McCarty is the Coach of the Year and West Virginia State's Tyler Hall is the Freshman of the Year, the league announced today.

Miller, a senior first baseman from Hagerstown, Md., led the Mountain East Conference in home runs (12), RBI (68), doubles (12) and total bases (117) while also batting .395. He leads the country in RBI and is 12th in home runs. Miller was the MEC Player of the Week three times this season, and was the NCBWA Hitter of the Week on two occasions. His 12 home runs rank 12th in the NCAA. 

Hvozdovic, a senior starter from Herndon, Va., posted a perfect 10-0 record during the regular season with a 1.42 ERA. His 87 strikeouts were the most in the MEC, and his strikeout-to-walk ratio of 17.41 is best in the country. In addition, he ranks in the top 10 nationally in complete games (8), victories (10), WHIP (0.82) and walks allowed per nine innings. 

Miller and Hvozdovic were each first team All-MEC.

Hall, a freshman pitcher from Charleston, W.Va., posted a 7-2 record with a 2.76 ERA in his first collegiate season for the Yellow Jackets. His 2.76 ERA was fourth-lowest in the MEC. Opponents hit .258 against him and he only allowed seven extra-base hits on the year. He was named to the All-MEC second team.

In his fourth season at Shepherd, McCarty directed the squad to a 37-10 overall record and the inaugural Mountain East Conference regular season championship after posting a 35-7 mark in MEC play. Shepherd is ranked first in the most recent NCAA Atlantic Region rankings, and the Rams cracked the NCBWA Top 25 earlier this week. 

In addition to the top honors, the league also announced its 2014 All-MEC teams. Regular season champion Shepherd had four players earn first team honors, as did runner-up Concord. West Virginia State and Notre Dame each were represented by a pair of players, and Urbana, UVa-Wise, West Liberty and West Virginia Wesleyan had one representative on the first team.

Four players from Urbana earned second team honors. The rest of the second team is comprised of three players each from Shepherd and West Virginia State, two from Concord, and single selections from Notre Dame, West Liberty and West Virginia Wesleyan.

The All-MEC teams are selected by a vote of the league's coaches. 

All-MEC First Team
CSpencer WolfeShepherd
1BJoey MillerConcord
2BJacob CarneyShepherd
SSD.J. BusbyWest Liberty
3BMike McCollumUVa-Wise
UtilityCorey LynnWest Virginia Wesleyan
OFBret BlevinsConcord
OFJack HudsonWest Virginia State
OFMichael LottShepherd
OFMatt PaculanUrbana
DHJoe CampConcord
SPPaul HvozdovicShepherd
SPMatt KastelicNotre Dame
SPRyan WeatherholtzConcord
SPJake WelchNotre Dame
RPJoshua FalboWest Virginia State
All-MEC Second Team
CTyler PayneWest Virginia State
1BKeifer QuickNotre Dame College
2BJerrod GrovesConcord
SSCody RidingerUrbana
3BRyan JohnstonConcord
UtilityRoman GammellUrbana
OFJohn KoonWest Virginia Wesleyan
OFKyle PorterShepherd
OFJose VargasUrbana
OFMatt WilsonShepherd
DHRyan MessinaShepherd
SPNick BozmanUrbana
SPTyler HallWest Virginia State
SPMark SmythWest Liberty
SPTyler ThompsonWest Virginia State
RPCorey LakatosCharleston
All-MEC Honorable Mention
CZach GunterCharleston
1BBill StevenUVa-Wise
2BEric CraftWest Virginia State
SSBrad SullivanConcord
UtilityAnthony BrunettiCharleston
OFJon-Michael BrunnerWest Liberty
OFRobbie CollinCharleston
OFRyan FosterCharleston
OFAndrew SeigelConcord
DHRyan SandersNotre Dame College
SPTyler CoyleConcord
SPJamie DriverShepherd
SPChris KellyConcord
SPRyan PanschShepherd
RPNick MayleFairmont State
Player Of The Year: Joey Miller (Concord)
Pitcher Of The Year: Paul Hvozdovic (Shepherd)
Freshman Of The Year: Tyler Hall (West Virginia State)
Coach Of The Year: Matt McCarty (Shepherd)
Powered by Frankly