WV Wesleyan's Warner, Omichinski Dominate Mountain East Softball - WBOY - Clarksburg, Morgantown: News, Sports, Weather

WV Wesleyan's Warner, Omichinski Dominate Mountain East Softball All-Conference Awards

Posted: Updated:
BRIDGEPORT - West Virginia Wesleyan, winners of the first Mountain East Conference regular season, placed four players on the All-MEC softball team, with pitcher/infielder Jacqui Omichinski claiming Player of the Year honors and Steve Warner earning Coach of the Year accolades. UVa-Wise ace Taylor Brandts was named Pitcher of the Year, and Urbana's Caitlyn Everhart was tabbed as the league's Freshman of the Year.

Omichinski, a senior from Abbotsford, British Columbia, did it all for the Bobcats as a pitcher and at third base. She posted a 14-3 record with a 2.08 ERA with four shutouts and 80 strikeouts. When not pitching, she played third and hit .366 with a team-best seven home runs.

Brandts, a freshman from King George, Va., led the Mountain East Conference with 18 wins on the year against just two losses. She posted a 2.01 ERA and struck out 121 batters in 125.1 innings. She had seven complete game shutouts on the year.

Everhart, a freshman from New Bremen, Ohio, led the Blue Knights with a .377 batting average while starting at shortstop. She topped Urbana in most offensive categories including runs (31), home runs (7), RBI (29), slugging (.607), walks (17) and stolen bases (14).

Warner directed the Bobcats to the MEC title with a 23-5 record. WVWC, ranked 23rd in the most recent NFCA Poll, is 38-10 on the year. 

In addition to Omichinski, West Virginia Wesleyan placed three others on the first team in catcher Megan Malenstyn, second baseman Alex Furr and outfielder Olivia Gore. UVa-Wise's Brandts was joined on the first team by teammates Kristina Romualdo at first base and Christina Ziemba in the outfield. West Virginia State had three players on the first team, and Fairmont State, Glenville State, Notre Dame, Urbana and Wheeling Jesuit each had one first team pick. 

The second team is comprised of three players each from Concord and UVa-Wise, two from Fairmont State, and one each from Charleston, Glenville State, Urbana, West Liberty, West Virginia State and West Virginia Wesleyan.

The All-MEC teams are selected by a vote of the league's coaches. 

All-MEC First Team
CMegan MalenstynWest Virginia Wesleyan
1BKristina RomualdoUVa-Wise
2BAlex FurrWest Virginia Wesleyan
SSSarah ParsonsFairmont State
SSMorgan ScarpelliniGlenville State
3BMattie BestWest Virginia State
OFKelsey ColemanNotre Dame
OFOlivia GoreWest Virginia Wesleyan
OFAngie ReddickWheeling Jesuit
OFChristina ZiembaUVa-Wise
DP/UtilSydney KaplanWest Virginia State
PTaylor BrandtsUVa-Wise
PAnna EgglestonWest Virginia State
PHaley KolmertenUrbana
PJacqui OmichinskiWest Virginia Wesleyan
All-MEC Second Team
CAlyssa MorrisConcord
1BAmanda SkidmoreFairmont State
1BAlana WeyantWest Virginia State
2BAlexa HernandezUVa-Wise
2BKristen RoseConcord
SSCaitlyn EverhartUrbana
3BMaggie StarrWest Liberty
DP/Util/PJessica GriffinWest Virginia Wesleyan
OFCarly CaldonGlenville State
OFLauren LewisConcord
OFRachelle ToppingsCharleston
OFSarah WillshireUVa-Wise
PRachel HawksUVa-Wise
PNikki NuzumFairmont State
Player Of The Year: Jacqui Omichinski (West Virginia Wesleyan)
Pitcher Of The Year: Taylor Brandts (UVa-Wise)
Freshman Of The Year: Caitlyn Everhart (Urbana)
Coach Of The Year: Steve Warner (West Virginia Wesleyan)
Powered by Frankly