ABU's Greg Zimmerman Recognized for National Coaching Award - WBOY - Clarksburg, Morgantown: News, Sports, Weather

ABU's Greg Zimmerman Recognized for National Coaching Award

Posted: Updated:

The Clarence "Big House" Gaines Coach of the Year Award is annually given to the top Men's Basketball Head Coach in NCAA Division-II.

Clarence Gaines was regarded as one of the legends in Division-II coaching. Gaines retired from Winston-Salem State University in 1993, holding an overall record of 828-446. At that point in time, Gaines was the winningest active Division-II coach in NCAA history. He was also elected to the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame in 1982.

Alderson Broaddus Men's Basketball Head Coach Greg Zimmerman was selected as one of 12 coaches to be recognized for the yearly award.

East Stroudsburg Head Coach Jeff Wilson was awarded as the winner of the Clarence Gaines Coach of the Year. Wilson guided East Stroudsburg to a number one seed in the Atlantic Region and a 30-2 overall record in 2013-14. He also earned the program its first spot in the NABC Top 25 poll for the first time in East Stroudsburg Men's Basketball history.

Below is the list of coaches to be recognized in the ballot:



Jeff Wilson, East Stroudsburg ***WINNER***

Greg Zimmerman, Alderson Broaddus

Josh Schertz, Lincoln Memorial

Lonn Reisman, Tarleton State

Jeff Oliver, Cal State San Bernardino

Steve Hettinga, Lake Superior State

Stan Gouard, Indianapolis

Leon Douglas, Tuskegee

Michael Donnelly, Southern Connecticut State

Rick Croy, Cal Baptist

Robert Corn, Missouri Southern

Derrick Clark, Metropolitan State

Powered by Frankly