Alderson Broaddus University presents biennial Honors Recital Fe - WBOY - Clarksburg, Morgantown: News, Sports, Weather

Alderson Broaddus University presents biennial Honors Recital Feb. 16

Posted: Updated:

The School of Music at Alderson Broaddus University will present its biennial Honors Recital at 4 p.m. Feb. 16 in Wilcox Chapel on the ABU campus.

Admission is free of cost and open to the public.

Seven winners were selected by audition in this year's competition. The two vocalists selected for the honor are junior music education major Francesca Molinaro of Connellsville, Pa., daughter of Henry and Cynthia Molinaro, and Timothy Tosh, son of Thomas and Tina Tosh, a senior musical arts major from Sterling, Va. Molinaro will sing Voci di primavera by Johann Strauss; Tosh will sing an aria from Rossini's La calunnia from The Barber of Seville.  

This year's winners included four brass majors. David Humbertson, son of Corrie and Greg Humbertson, freshman music education major from Cumberland, Md., will perform the second and third movements of Ferdinand David's Concertino for Trombone. Joseph Turrin's Caprice will be performed by sophomore trumpeter Eric Davis, son of Barbara and Dana Davis, who comes to ABU from Vienna and majors in musical arts. Clayton Heath of Rawlings, Md., son of Kenneth and Deborah Heath, will perform Eugéne Bozza's New Orleans. Heath is a sophomore music education and performance major. Sean Burdette, son of Andrew Burdette and Ellen Crislip, of Poca will perform the first movement of the Concerto for Trumpet by Oskar Böhme. Burdette is a senior majoring in music education and performance.  

One pianist was named winner: Ashlan Thompson, daughter of Terry and Melissa Thompson, from Cumberland, Md. Thompson will perform the Rhapsody in G minor, Op. 79, No. 2 by Johannes Brahms. The seven winners will perform in collaboration with Hooi Yin Boey, associate professor of music, and Elizabeth Etnoyer, staff accompanist at ABU.

The School of Music hires a panel of three judges for these competitions — professionals not associated with ABU — in order to provide students objective performance feedback and to insure an experience that most closely resembles the audition procedures they will encounter in their future professions.  This year the adjudicators selected the seven winners from seventeen who auditioned. 

Those adjudicators were Mark Gallagher, professor of clarinet and music theory and music department chair at Frostburg State University, Frostburg, Virginia Thompson, professor of horn at West Virginia University and Larry Parsons, former director of choirs, professor of music, and provost of West Virginia Wesleyan College.

Powered by Frankly