WVU Department of Family Medicine — Eastern Division - WBOY - Clarksburg, Morgantown: News, Sports, Weather

WVU Department of Family Medicine — Eastern Division

Posted: Updated:

Dr. Rosemarie Cannarella Lorenzetti has been cited for her 18 months of service as interim chairwoman of the West Virginia University Department of Family Medicine — Eastern Division. She was formally recognized during a January planning retreat at Priestfield Pastoral Center in Kearneysville.

Dr. Konrad C. Nau, dean of the WVU School of Medicine - Eastern Division presented Lorenzetti with a bouquet of flowers as a token of appreciation from WVU Health Sciences Center leaders and the faculty. 

Lorenzetti co-founded Harpers Ferry Family Medicine in 1982 and was instrumental in the creation of the WVU Rural Family Medicine Residency Program and the establishment of the WVU Department of Family Medicine-Eastern Division.  

The department has more than 20 faculty physicians, six nurse practitioners and physician assistants and 15 family medicine resident physicians as well as fellowship training programs in rural hospital medicine and in geriatric medicine.

This faculty retreat marks the formal transition in leadership to the new head of the department, Dr. George Harris.

He is a West Virginia native who served in family medicine leadership positions with the University of Missouri-Kansas City and with the University of South Florida College of Medicine.

Lorenzetti will continue in her position as the associate dean for student services with responsibilities for 30 WVU medical students completing their third and fourth years of medical school on the Eastern Division campus.

She also maintains her family medicine patient care practice at Harpers Ferry Family Medicine and at Jefferson Medical Center in Ranson.

Powered by Frankly