Hollywood Squares' Peter Marshall is W.Va. Music Hall of Famer - WBOY - Clarksburg, Morgantown: News, Sports, Weather

Hollywood Squares' Peter Marshall is W.Va. Music Hall of Famer

Posted: Updated:


Peter Marshall, the long-time TV game show host turned big band musician is among the seven inductees in the West Virginia Music Hall of Fame. The ceremony will take place Nov. 16 at the Culture Center Theater.
The living inductees are: Marshall, Melvin & Ray Goins, Wayne Moss and Tim O'Brien.
The deceased inductees are: Ada "Bricktop" Smith, Eleanor Steber and The Swan Silvertones. The 2013 Spirit Award will be presented to Logan's Landau Eugene Murphy, Jr.
Marshall was born in Wheeling and grew up in Huntington. He is best known for hosting 5,000 episodes of "Hollywood Squares." He also hosted the 12-show "Big Bands From Disneyland" series for the Disney Channel, and produced and toured in a number of big band shows. Marshall continues performing concerts and is heard nationally on "The "Music of Your Life" radio network. In 2000, he issued the CD "Boy Singer" which featured new arrangements of standards and a 36-piece orchestra.
All living inductees are scheduled to be present to accept their awards and perform during their induction segment. In addition to a cast of hosts, presenters and performers, this year's event will feature more musical performances.
"The class of 2013 inductees continues the Hall of Fame's mission to recognize outstanding artists who were born or raised in the Mountain State," said Michael Lipton, director of the W.Va. Music Hall of Fame. "The fifth class honors seven more unique West Virginia artists who have made lasting contributions to American music.
"I think everyone - both in-and out-of-state - is consistently amazed at the diversity of the musicians who have come from West Virginia," Lipton added. "And it's always exciting to discover artists who have made their marks in unique ways. Of course, that kind of singular and homegrown creativity is something we have come to expect and admire from West Virginians.
"We're also excited to recognize Landau Eugene Murphy, Jr., with the 2013 Spirit Award," Lipton added. "It goes without saying that Landau has brought positive attention to West Virginia but, just as importantly, he has been a true inspiration for young people throughout the state."
Melvin (born 1933) and Ray Goins (1936-2007) are from Goodwill in Mercer County.
They hold a significant place in the history of bluegrass music. Melvin was the first bluegrass musician to be featured on the cover of Smithsonian magazine and was inducted into the International Bluegrass Music Association Hall of Fame in 2009 as a member of the Lonesome Pine Fiddlers.
Moss (born 1938), a South Charleston native, is an accomplished bassist, guitarist and songwriter. He is a considered a legend among Nashville studio musicians. His credits include sessions for hundreds of country and rock artists as well as stints in storied Nashville groups.
O'Brien (born 1954) is a Grammy-winning bluegrass/country/folk artist from Wheeling
The talented multi-instrumentalist, singer and songwriter is also a sought- after producer who co-founded the group Hot Rize.
Born Ada Beatrice Queen Victoria Louise Virginia Smith (1894-1984) in Alderson,
"Bricktop" was a dancer, singer, vaudevillian and self-described saloon-keeper who owned the Paris nightclub Chez Bricktop. She has been described as "one of the most legendary and enduring figures of 20th Century American cultural history."
Steber (1914-1990) is a Wheeling native who is considered one of the most important U.S. sopranos of the 20th Century. With a rich voice noted for its versatility, she is most famous for her creation of the title role in Samuel Barber's "Vanessa" and for commissioning his "Knoxville: Summer of 1915."
Formed in 1938, the Swan Silvertones were one of the greatest gospel quartets of the '50s and '60s. The McDowell County group was originally called The Four Harmony Kings and then the Silvertone Singers.


Powered by Frankly