West Virginia State University Sports Hall of Fame to Induct Eig - WBOY - Clarksburg, Morgantown: News, Sports, Weather

West Virginia State University Sports Hall of Fame to Induct 8

Posted: Updated:

West Virginia State University's athletic booster organization, the "W" Club, is honoring eight of its alumni with inductions into the University's Sports Hall Fame Saturday, Oct. 5, in the Wilson University Union.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony was part of WVSU's annual Homecoming activities.

New inductees will also be recognized during halftime at the Homecoming football game when the Yellow Jackets face Urbana University at 1:30 p.m.

"It is always an honor to recognize individuals or teams that bring distinction to WVSU and to let them know we haven't forgot you and to say thank you," said William Lipscomb, president of the W Club. "I have seen how other colleges bestow this honor, and truly, we don't take second place to any of them. When they present the Hall of Famer's line up and extend their hands to welcome the new inductees into the ‘House,' and then we line up at halftime on the football field, the feeling of Yellow Jacket pride is at its highest peak."

The new "W" Club Sports Hall of Fame members are: James L. Henry (‘83) for football, Julius A. McLeod, II (‘89) for football, Shawn Harvey (‘96) for basketball, Alfred G. Vance (‘75) for basketball, Richard L. Dunlap (‘65) for track and field, James M. Hill, Jr. (‘60) for swimming, Taryn Haas (‘07) for volleyball, and honorary inductee U.S. District Judge Reggie B. Walton (‘71).

Admission to the Sports Hall of Fame Induction brunch is $10, and tickets will be available at the door.  Admission to the Homecoming football game is $5 with tickets available at the gate.

For a complete schedule of all Homecoming events, visit https://connect.wvstateu.edu/homecoming.


2013 WVSU Sports Hall of Fame Inductees:


James L. Henry (‘83) for football

            Henry was voted the football team's Most Valuable Defensive Lineman in 1977, 1979 and 1980. He was the starting defensive end from 1977 until 1980. In 1979, he was a member of the Southern Division Conference Championship Team and Coal Bowl Team and was selected as the Conference Defensive Player of the Week. Henry received the distinction of Most Valuable Player for the 1980 Homecoming game.

            Julius A. McLeod, II (‘89) for football

            McLeod earned letters each year from 1986 until 1989. In 1988, he was captain of the team and an All-Conference First Team selection. He was credited with 29 catches for 477 yards and three touchdowns in 1987.

            Shawn Harvey (‘96) for basketball

            In 1996, Harvey was the WVIAC leader in both scoring and rebounding. He was also named as the WVIAC Player of the Year, NAIA Great Lakes Section Player of the Year and second team NAIA All-American selection. Harvey played in the Portsmouth, Va., Invitational Tournament, a showcase of the top 64 senior college basketball players in the nation, and was named to the All-Tournament Team. He was a three-time NAIA All-American Selection. 

            Alfred G. Vance (‘75) for basketball

            Vance was a member of the 1972 All-Tournament Team at the Rio Grande Holiday Tournament. He also played for the 1972 Ashland Invitational All-Tournament Team. He was All-Conference in 1972 and was the team captain from 1973 until 1974.

            Richard L. Dunlap (‘65) for track and field

            Dunlap earned first place in the 120 high-hurdles at the 1962 WVIAC Conference. He was a two-year letterman, and earned the WVIAC All-Time Award for Spring Sports presented on the conference's 50th Anniversary in 1974. He served two terms on the WVSC Athletic Committee, and has been a Lifetime Member of the National Alumni Association since 1997.

            James M. Hill, Jr. ('60) for swimming

            Hill was a freestyle swimmer and sprinter, specializing in 50- and 100-yard events, 400-yard freestyle and 400-yard relay events, and the 1 meter diving event. He earned points in all of the swimming meets in which he competed and swam in four events per meet. Hill achieved the highest degree of difficulty in the diving competition, and these accomplishments paved the way for then West Virginia State College to win its first swimming championship in 1960.

            Taryn Haas (‘07) for volleyball

            Haas was named the WVIAC Player of the Year in 2006 and is a four-year letter winner. She was named 2nd Team All-Conference in 2004 and 2006, All-Freshman Team and All-WVIAC in 2003, and first team All-WVIAC in 2005. Haas was also selected as the WVIAC Tournament's Most Valuable Player in 2006. She graduated with honors in 2007.  

            Judge Reggie Walton (‘71) honorary inductee

            Walton lettered three years in football for the Yellow Jackets and was a member of the 1968 WVIAC Championship team. He is a current member of the WVSU National Alumni Association. Judge Walton assumed his position as a U.S. District Judge for the District of Columbia on Oct. 29, 2001, after being nominated to the position by President George W. Bush and confirmed by the U.S. Senate. 

Powered by Frankly