Harrison County Board of Education Plans to Address Focus School - WBOY - Clarksburg, Morgantown: News, Sports, Weather

Harrison County Board of Education Plans to Address Focus Schools

Posted: Updated:

The Harrison County Board of Education met on Tuesday to discuss six of its schools being named "focus schools."

Focus schools are schools where some groups of students who are identified by demographics like race or income, test worse than students who aren't placed into these groups.

On Tuesday, the assistant superintendent of curriculum, Wendy Imperial, told the board which of its schools are focus schools, and what the school system plans to do about it.

The schools are Bridgeport Middle School, Johnson Elementary School, Mountaineer Middle School, Salem Elementary School, South Harrison Middle School, and West Milford Elementary School.

Imperial said it will take a group effort to fix the problem.

"Every county will have a team called the FAST (Focus Assistance Support Team), and it's focusing on those schools. We have developed our team here in Harrison County. RESA will also develop a team and they will be there for support. The state will also develop a team, so we can reach to them and ask them for support," said Imperial.

Imperial said none of Harrison County's schools made the "priority school" list, which is the worst category.

Also at the meeting on Tuesday, the board named Donna Hage the Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources and Policy.

That's the position Greg Moore held, before he left to take over as principal of South Harrison High School.

Superintendent Susan Collins will now have to recommend someone to replace Hage, as assistant principal at Robert C Byrd High School.

Powered by Frankly