FSU's Snyder, Thornton Recognized as Baisi Award Winners - WBOY - Clarksburg, Morgantown: News, Sports, Weather

FSU's Snyder, Thornton Recognized as Baisi Award Winners

Posted: Updated:

For the second consecutive year, Fairmont State's Kaitlin Snyder and Isaac Thornton have been named the winners of the Neal Baisi Awards, which is presented by the Beckley Newspapers.

The 12th annual awards recognize the most outstanding Mountain State natives on the WVIAC football and men's and women's basketball rosters.

University of Charleston's Jordan Roberts was awarded as the state's top football player.

Snyder has won the award each of the last three seasons, while Thornton has won the award over the last two years.

Thornton finished ninth in the league in scoring (17.3 ppg.) and was 10th in free throw percentage (.822). His 44-point performance against West Liberty marked the most points scored by a WVIAC player this season. For his career, Thornton tallied 2,106 points. He earned first-team all-district honors and was selected to play in the 2013 Reese's Division II College All-Star game.

Snyder has averaged 17.1 points, 5.5 rebounds and 4.2 assists in addition to setting a school record with 94 steals during her senior campaign. Snyder was named the WVIAC Tournament MVP after guiding the Falcons to the 2013 WVIAC Championship, which resulted in the No. 8 seed in the NCAA Tournament.

Powered by Frankly