32 WV Schools Named Priority Schools by Board of Education - WBOY - Clarksburg, Morgantown: News, Sports, Weather

32 WV Schools Named Priority Schools by Board of Education

Posted: Updated:

The West Virginia Board of Education has named a pending list of 32 low performing schools across W.Va. as priority school, according to a news release from the W.Va. Department of Education.

The schools listed will get additional support to meet the needs of their students. Officials said the designation of priority schools is part of the state's ESEA Flexibility Request, "which includes waivers of certain provisions of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), also known as the No Child Left Behind Act."

Schools that are listed as priority schools are:

  • Barbour County: Philippi Middle, Junior Elementary
  • Berkeley County: Burke Street Elementary
  • Braxton County: Braxton County High
  • Cabell County: Peyton Elementary, Enslow Middle
  • Fayette County: Ansted Elementary, Collins Middle
  • Grant County: Union Educational Complex
  • Hampshire County: Hampshire Senior High
  • Kanawha County: Mary C. Snow West Side Elementary, Watts Elementary, J E Robins Elementary
  • Lincoln County: Lincoln County High, Midway Elementary
  • Logan County: Buffalo Elementary, Man Senior High, Chapmanville Senior High
  • Mercer County: Spanishburg School
  • Mingo County: Gilbert Middle, Williamson Middle
  • McDowell County: Southside K-8, Mount View High
  • Preston County: Tunnelton-Denver Elementary
  • Summers County: Summers County High School
  • Taylor County: Anna Jarvis Elementary
  • Wayne County: East Lynn Elementary, Wayne Middle
  • Webster County: Webster County High, Glade Middle
  • Wood County: Jefferson Elementary, Franklin Elementary.

"When schools continue to perform in the bottom 5 percent of the state and aren't showing signs of growth, they need help," said state Superintendent of Schools Jim Phares. "By identifying them as priority schools, we can help these education facilities do the right thing for their students. The priority schools designation shifts from just identifying schools as not meeting Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) to identifying schools and providing intense on-going support."

The 32 schools are among the lowest five percent of Title I schools based on student achievement school-wide and a historical lack of progress over three years, according to the news release.

Officials said after becoming a priority school, the first step is a diagnostic visit to identify weaknesses within the school and the schools will be given a "roadmap to success" based on its particular needs.

Then, the W.Va. Department of Education and Regional Education Service Agencies (RESAs) will work with each school and their county school systems "to provide professional development and technical assistance to implement improvements," according to the news release.

A priority school can exit the status after three years if it "no longer satisfies the initial criteria and it demonstrates successful school turnaround strategies," according to the news release.

For more information, contact the Office of Communication at 304-558-2699.

Powered by Frankly