Fairmont State University - WBOY - Clarksburg, Morgantown: News, Sports, Weather

Fairmont State University

Posted: Updated:

Gregory P. Noone, assistant professor of political science and law at Fairmont State University, has been selected 2012 Professor of the Year by the state's Faculty Merit Foundation.

The Faculty Merit Foundation of West Virginia each year honors an outstanding faculty member at a West Virginia college or university. The award winner receives a $10,000 cash prize while other finalists get smaller awards. The Professor of the Year award is presented with financial support from United Bank.

Noone's selection was announced March 12 during a banquet held in the Great Hall of the Culture Center in Charleston. 

Kenneth H. Yount, a political science and history professor at Alderson-Broaddus College, was first runner-up. 

Also receiving prizes as award finalists: Daniel Holbrook, associate professor of history at Marshall University; Dr. Gregory Juckett, professor of family medicine and West Virginia University Health Service physician; and Bryan Raudenbush, psychology professor at Wheeling Jesuit University. 

Noone has been the director of the National Security and Intelligence Program at Fairmont State since 2007. He earned a Ph.D. in political science/international relations from WVU. He earned his law degree from Suffolk University Law School, a master's in defense studies from the Royal Military College of Canada, a master of arts in international affairs from Catholic University and his bachelor's in political science from Villanova University. 

The Faculty Merit Foundation's 2011 Professor of the Year runner-up, he also was the Dr. Alan Hammock Fellow at WVU and has won multiple Navy and Army commendation medals.

He also won the U.S. Department of Defense's Meritorious Service Medal and in 2012 was the Fairmont Times-West Virginian Educator of the Year.

Noone also works with the Fairmont State University Honors Program.

Powered by Frankly