Harrison County Football Players Honored at Loria Awards - WBOY - Clarksburg, Morgantown: News, Sports, Weather

Harrison County Football Players Honored at Loria Awards

Posted: Updated:

On Monday night, the top football players in Harrison County were honored at the 30th Annual Frank Loria Awards banquet.

For the second year in a row, Bridgeport's Brett Hathaway won the Frank Loria Award for the county's top player. Robert C. Byrd's Teague Wagner won the Loria Linemen of the Year, and Byrd's Bruce Carey was named Coach of the Year.

The awards are named in honor of Frank Loria, who died at the age of 23 in the tragic Marshall football plane crash in 1970.

The players said winning the awards is always an honor.

"It's nice, a very prestigious award, very humbling," said Hathaway. "There is a lot of great players in this county that could have won this, but I couldn't have done this without my teammates."

"It just goes to show hard work really does pay off," said Wagner. "It's a great honor to get something like this to show if you do work hard things do really pay off."

Harrison's All County team was at the banquet. Each player was recognized for their season.

West Virginia University Athletic Director Oliver Luck was among the special guests.

Honored guest speaker Frank Beamer, who is the head coach at Virginia Tech, was unable to make the event due to weather. Coach Beamer did send a video of his speech to the banquet.

Beamer played with Loria at Virginia Tech.

Powered by Frankly