President Obama Signs Disaster Declaration for WV - WBOY - Clarksburg, Morgantown: News, Sports, Weather

President Obama Signs Disaster Declaration for WV

Posted: Updated:

President Barack Obama signed a disaster declaration Tuesday for West Virginia and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by Superstorm Sandy, according to a news release from the White House Press Office.

In Barbour, Boone, Braxton, Clay, Fayette, Kanawha, Lewis, Nicholas, Pendleton, Pocahontas, Preston, Raleigh, Randolph, Taylor, Tucker, Upshur, Webster, and Wyoming Counties, federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis.

The federal funding is for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by Superstorm Sandy in those counties, according to the news release.

Officials said federal funding is also available for hazard mitigation measures statewide, on a cost-sharing basis.

Dolph A. Diemont was named as the Federal Coordination Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected areas by W. Craig Fugate, administrator for FEMA.

According to FEMA, additional designations may be made later on if requested by the state and warranted by further damage assessment results.

Powered by Frankly